Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Micro torch

Question Micro torch

Hi, I'm a newbie and this is my first thread! I'm looking to set up my own little work bench at home to practice some of my recently learned skills. I'm just getting so confused when it comes to purchasing a micro torch. I will be using it for both soldering small pieces such as jump rings but would also like to solder larger pieces like bangles. Do I need two torches or is there one that would cover all of this? Is it worth spending the extra money to buy a proxxon (for the small pieces) and max flame or iroda pt500 (for larger pieces) or will a cheap cooks torch do the exact same job. Which torches do you recommend? Thank you

I would recommend the Smiths little torch, which will cover all that however they are expensive and require gas cylinders, many people seem get along ok with a simple LPG torch, although from my experience when it come to melting
    metal and heating large pieces they struggle.

Another recommendation for the Smiths torch from me although if it is out of budget then the Sievert would be my second choice.

I started a couple of months ago with a soldering torch from b&q that cost about £13 and was powered by an aerosol sized gas can. I used it successfully for annealing, soldering ring joints and balling ends of wire but even though it claimed to have a 'fine flame' in reality it was far too fierce for anything requiring real precision. Also though it wasn't heavy it was a little bulky in the hand.

This week I've bought the basic jewellers hand torch from Cooksons and have tested it out on a few projects - it is infinitely better, definitely worth the extra money and at £28 it is still very affordable. It runs on butane lighter fuel that I can buy in my local corner shop, which is also very handy.
    http://www.cooksongold.com/Jewellery...prcode-999-955