Thread: Dark solder line on fine silver bezel

Unhappy Dark solder line on fine silver bezel

Hello! I hope that someone will be able to help me.

I am a self-taught silversmith and I have been making jewellery for about 4 years, but recently I have noticed that once I have polished a piece up to a mirror finish the solder line is visibly darker than the rest of the piece. My joints are flush and closed without any light shining through before soldering with hard solder from Cooksons, and are cleaned and put in safety pickle. I hadn't ever noticed this colour difference in any of my pieces after polishing until about a month ago, on a fine silver bezel, so worrying it was something in my workspace contaminating the process I cleaned all of my equipment thoroughly, changed my pickle, tried a new flux (I had been using a borax cone, so I bought some tenacity flux) and bought new hard solder but alas, the same problem occured! The fine silver I used was pre-cut bezel strip (5mm wide 0.3mm thick) from Cooksons. I was worried i was overheating the piece, so tried again, heating very, very slowly on a charcoal block. The silver was had no fire scale, and I hadn't applied any direct heat to the solder join until the piece was hot enough for the solder to run, no excess solder, the join was flush and lovely but when it was polished up there is still the tiniest dark line.