Thread: Questions about creating engraved pendants

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Questions about creating engraved pendants

Hi,

I'm a beginner and my goal is to create engraved pendant necklaces. Not the sparkling gemstone pendants you see when you search for pendants, but pendants that appeal to other kinds of jewelry fans. I have some questions and I hope you are in an answering mood!

What is the name of the somewhat thick, flat, round pendant base the machine engraves? I attached an example photo. This doesn't look like what I want to make but it's a good example of a pendant base that a jewelry maker customized.

What is the name of the pendant base if it already has a bail or eye at the top (not through the base itself) for the chain to go through?

What are the best round pendant bases that look like real silver, real rose gold or real yellow gold but are fairly low-cost imitations?

I want to take a unique design of my own, program it into something, and have a machine engrave the pendant base for me. Is this possible?

Thanks in advance.

Photo: Click image for larger version. 

Name:	example of base.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	69.5 KB 
ID:	11051

I have to say I'm not convinced that pendant looks engraved - cast or possibly precious metal clay rather than engraved. What would I call the base? Um. Disc? Dog tag (British, rather than American)? As for with a bail, I think that's an adequate description.