Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How Do You Open A Bundle Of Saw Blades.

Default How Do You Open A Bundle Of Saw Blades.

Quote Originally Posted by theresalbush View Post
    Some time ago when I was a newbie, I remember seeing a video showing how to remove saw blades from their bundle very neatly and cleverly. I'm not even sure I owned a saw at that time so it didn't really register with me at the time. Since I have now learned to saw, I have tried to find that video again but with no luck. Does anyone remember seeing it or know what I'm talking about?
    No, but we might as well all chip in to say how we do it:

I cut the brass wire by drawing a craft knife down the length of the bundle. Dennis.

Roll it to loosen the wire, pick out the end between the blades & unravel the thing. Dennis' method is probably faster though.

I just unravel the top inch of a bundle, making sure that the blades teeth are pointing downwards, then I pull out single blades when required and my blade holding tube on my bench has a few different size bundles of blades inside it.

My saw blade holder tube taped to a jam jar full of punches top left.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	38 Workbench file and burr blocks.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	75.1 KB 
ID:	10969

James

I pull the top of the wire with my nail and then unravel it.
    I remove the wire completely and store in a test tube now after a tip on here, I have a rack with one size in each tube in order of size.

James this a bit off topic, I see you have a New Concepts saw frame can you give a honest opinion, I am about to buy a new frame and have been considering the New Concepts

Quote Originally Posted by china View Post
    James this a bit off topic, I see you have a New Concepts saw frame can you give a honest opinion, I am about to buy a new frame and have been considering the New Concepts