Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Selling at a Craft Fair?

Question Selling at a Craft Fair?

I would like to try selling at a Craft Fair and I am hoping that anyone who has experience at doing this would be kind enough to answer some questions I have so I don't make a fool of myself. It would be a $10 table at a local fair held in a community centre.

1) Would I look ridiculous unless I have a table stacked/covered with items to sell?

2) I will be on my own, so what do I do if I need to leave the table i.e. for a Toilet break?

3) I am not a registered Hallmark holder and no item I have needs Hallmarking. Do I still need to display the dealer notice? I suspect the answer is 'Yes'.

4) I am only planning on selling for cash. Is this OK? How can I offer other methods of payment? I have no intention of moving into the smartphone era yet.

5) What would be an average price range for jewellery items at a craft fair?

Can you offer any tips, advice, words of wisdom for a complete novice?

Thanks in advance!

I've no experience of it myself, but maybe this will make a start: https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=ad...MezCgAbogo6gBQ Dennis.

Hi Handmade blanks.

You don't need too much on the table - it will be hard to see and take ages to pack away. Get a nice clean cloth though and make sure it is straight BEFORE you lay out your wares. Keep some things back to fill gaps when you sell something. My first market was a school craft fair - only sold 3 items - but it was good experience and enabled me to try my stall layout. Take something you can make if things are slow - it will interest passers by and stop you feeling like a lemon. I usually do a little wirework.

Make friends with the neighbouring stall holders or ask a friend to drop in and man the stall for you so you can go for a toilet break - or drink nothing, though this is hard. Sometimes the organiser will look after it for you if you ask.