Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Soldering non precious metal?

Default Soldering non precious metal?

Hi all
    I'm just getting into the silver working with a torch but would also like to work with non silver, cosmetic jewellery, base metal? I don't know what to call it and can't find any info, but ...
    I like to keep my prices down at my fairs and so would like to use a silver coloured metal that's easy to solder that isn't silver. Just little projects like soldering an earring post, bails or jump rings etc?.. either sheet or wire... I've seen nickel sheet but that isn't good is it!?!
    thanks
    Mandy x

The real problem with using base metals for piercings, including ears, is that some people quicly become sensitive to them and develop weeping sores.
    Once sensitive it is with you for life, and even touching those metals can give you a tingle.

Siver wire is not all that expensive, paticularly for little things as you sdescribe. Dennis.

Ive always given the option of st silver earwires but hardly ever get taken up on it. Id still love to know what base metals are easy to play with to solder to etc... i want to make bigger things that arent expensive to buy. My customers like my prices and i want the option of silver and based. I love the fact im having a play with silver but then the price goes up.
    Id like the option of both if anyone knows...? I make tiaras aswell but wouldnt dream of using sterling. Just as an example.
    Thanks

I'm with Dennis I wouldn't dream of using a base metal for ears, it wasn't even an option when being taught. The cost of silver wire is minimal or if you aren't soldering at least silver plated is safer. Costume jewellery is usually plated silver or gold but these are all added costs if you are making by hand.
    Do you have public liability insurance for fairs just in case there is a problem?