Thread: bezel setting for a free form boulder opal

Smile bezel setting for a free form boulder opal

Hi everyone,
    can anyone advise me? I'm trying to make a bezel setting for a boulder opal and I have made the bezel with 5mm fine silver which I have filed and it's now 4mm all around the stone. I used easy solder to close the bezel and now thinking maybe I should have used hard solder for this? There is approx a 2mm length above the stone which seems to be fairly flat all around, however there are parts of the stone which on top seem irregular so the bezel will fold over the stone unevenly? Do I file the bezel to match the contours of the stone or keep the bezel even all around in which case some parts may appear deeper when pushed over? It's my first time with this kind of stone and I chose a triangular shape ... well I'm finding it challenging to say the least and also, because I'm unsure it's taking me a long time because I keep stopping to try to read information on the internet... and reading conflicting advice. Then I also read that you should maybe put epoxy in the base which I would prefer not to do as my base is flat. I'm hoping to complete it for my daughters christmas present so any help on completing this would be much appreciated! I was going to put it on a 3mm round wire for the ring shank but does anyone think this is too thick and would it look better with 2mm wire? I don't have other shapes of wire to choose from, just round at the moment. Thank you. I'm going to try to also put some pictures here although they are not really close up they will hopefully give you an idea of what I'm attempting... thanks...Jane
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	opal cab 1.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	31.1 KB 
ID:	10801

Name:	opal cab 2.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	25.3 KB 
ID:	10802

Name:	opal ab 3.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	28.3 KB 
ID:	10803

Name:	opal cab 4.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	33.0 KB 
ID:	10804

Name:	back of opal cab 5.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	33.5 KB 
ID:	10805