Thread: Taking Good Product Photos

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Taking Good Product Photos

Introduction

I have recently joined this forum, in the hope that I can offer some much needed guidance and pointers to aspiring jewellery photographers. So many of us have websites, online shops and social media profiles, and photography is the essential medium for showing our work. I have spent around 10 years learning jewellery photography, most of which is self taught and the result of continued experimentation and improvement.

I'll gladly offer whatever help I can to anyone who wants to improve their photography to make their jewellery look as good as possible.

Working daily on jewellery photos for our website, I get the chance to experiment for best results. And for anyone disappointed with their current results, take a look at an example of my photography when I started, and how much it has improved with persistence over the years.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Then-now.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	28.4 KB 
ID:	10776
    Mark Johnson
    Co-founder www.serendipitydiamonds.com
    Diamond professional and jewellery photographer

Dear Serendipity, welcome to the forum and thank you for your kind offer.
    Why don't you post some tutorials on product photography. I am sure they would appreciated, particularly if they use inexpensive solutions. Dennis.

Default Jewellery Photography

Hi Dennis. Great idea and thanks for suggesting this. I've added some detail from an article I wrote not too long ago. I'll look forward to adding some more in-depth guidance, but for now, this gives a few pointers and a list of some of the equipment which will be useful to budding jewellery photographers.

Introduction