Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on stamping pendant blanks

Default Advice on stamping pendant blanks

Hi all,

I am new to jewellery making and teaching myself from Youtube etc so very glad I found this forum.

I want to have a custom stamp/punch made to stamp onto the Sterling Silver Oval Tag 8x6mm Stamping Blanks that I found on Cooksongold website.

The stamp design is just an outline of a bunny.

I have struggled to find manufacturers of custom stamps in the UK. I have managed to find one and they quoted £140-£160 for a punch about 7mm. Does this price sound reasonable? I can't find any other suppliers to compare it to.

Also if i was to hand stamp, would I just need a steel block and hammer, or is there anything else I would need?

Please could you advise what type of hammer I would need.

Thanks in advance.

Rachel

UK prices for custom stamps are, IMO, very high, and the quality isn't always brilliant.

You might want to consider importing one from the US - https://www.infinitystamps.com/

Their blanks are cheap and very good quality as well if you were to opt for their tagmate system, which is a very easy system to use.

As for the hammer, I always use a brass head for stamping. The weight depends on what you're happy with, but I find a 1lb is more than enough to do the job without ending up exhausted from using something heavier.

7mm seems a big big to me but I suppose it depends on the design

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by mizgeorge View Post
    UK prices for custom stamps are, IMO, very high, and the quality isn't always brilliant.

You might want to consider importing one from the US -
    Their blanks are cheap and very good quality as well if you were to opt for their tagmate system, which is a very easy system to use.

As for the hammer, I always use a brass head for stamping. The weight depends on what you're happy with, but I find a 1lb is more than enough to do the job without ending up exhausted from using something heavier.