Thread: Foredom V Dremel V Milbro

Default Foredom V Dremel V Milbro

Hello everyone, I'm a jewellery student albeit a very middle aged one It's just a hobby but as I progress I'm finding I need more tools (need or want, Im not so sure) I have been toying for some months on a pendant drill....

This will be a one time purchase for me. I have saved my birthday money but Im not really sure which tool would be best suited for my needs. I don't want to purchase something that costs a fortune with all bells and whistles when I'm just a hobby jeweller but on the other hand I don't want to get something now and it doesn't last me six months.

I love stone setting, and Im currently working on flush setting, other students can practice at home but as I haven't got any kit I'm not getting any practice in. So Im after something that I can use for setting ... drilling holes, bit of polishing, tube and flush setting. I think I've done well in not rushing out and buying the first thing I see but I'm still confused at what's on offer.

I've looked at the Dremel 4000, also the Foredom Jewellers kit SR , that comes with a No20 quick release hand piece which I think would be good for me. I have read the milbro are very good but I think it's a little out of my league - not just the price, but would a hobbyist really need something as good as those?

So, what do you use, what to you use it for, pros and cons.....

Dremel is basically a toy and won't last long, go for the Foredom you will most likely never need to replace it, buy a h.30 hand piece as well