Thread: silver wire bracelet

Default silver wire bracelet

Hello,
    I am new to jewellery making and in the process of ordering materials for a bracelet, but I don't know whether to buy annealed or hard silver wire. The main body of the bracelet I want to us 2mm round and the detailed design I was thinking of 1.2mm and thinner. Since I will be soldering throughout the design is there any point in using hard wire if it anneals when I solder?
    Also, if I use annealed wire, what is the best way to harden it so it keeps its shape when finished?
    thanks guys & gals,
    Geoff

You are quite right in thinking that the wire will become annealed with the various soldering stages, so you might as well buy it in the soft state.

The way to harden it if it is to be a cuff, that is to say rigid with a space to insert the wrist, is to make it in the flat and then bend it around a bracelet mandrel or rolling pin type object when finished.

A complete bangle or jointed bracelet will remain soft, unless you want to try precipitation hardening as my attachment below.

Two warnings:
    Get some copper wire to make a prototype first, and avoid expensive waste.
    You will need a large torch for a cuff or bangle, A hand held mini torch will not be hot enough. Dennis
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails P1 Precipitation Hardening (Ganoxin).jpg  

hi Dennis, thanks for the info, it is much appreciated, Geoff

Hello there. I am a new member, and delving into attempting to make sterling cuff bracelets.

I have bought 5mm wide, 1.2mm thick rectangular wire, to which I am soldering/welding a light over clip, so that I can then later threat leather and horse hair through. Sort of like a top decorative layer - but I need to do this last so not to burn it of course.