Thread: Hallmarking PLEASE HELP :)

Default Hallmarking PLEASE HELP :)

Hiya everyone, I'm Clair and I'm new to cooksongold and new to the whole stamping world but I'm loving it so far!

I would like to sell Silver Jewellery and have obviously done some research about having to Hallmark etc....

However due to ONLY just starting out I will be starting small even with Aluminium Bangles...

I've read on Goldsmiths/AssayOffice that if the Silver weighs under 7.78g you don't have to have it hallmarked to be able to sell? have i understood that correctly or incorrectly?

I do eventually want to Register so I can sell Silver Bangles which are obviously a lot more in weight but right now I'm trying to start off small and learn the ropes

Also... I know it'll make me sound ridiculous but I'm assuming you don't hallmark Aluminium?

Answers/Replies will be very appreciated!
    Thanks in advance

Clair

dear old Blighty - (in deepest Wiltshire)

Hi Clair

welcome to the forum.

You are indeed correct silver only needs assaying once it has reached the magic number, although some (including myself) send it in regardless. It is a lovely thing to see on your work, if you are using precious metals. Speaking of, if you co-use a precious with a nonprecious and the weight takes you over the legal weight (so, for example; any gold added, and the combined weight is 1gram or more) you will need to submit for mixed metal marking, that will include a 'part mark'. All submissions to the assay office require either you to send in with your maker's (sponsor) mark or get the assay team to do that. If you have a one off piece, I know the Goldsmiths' Hall will add their mark to it for you.

You have got to grips with it well

Welcome to the forum Clair,

I'm assuming that you are in the UK...

https://theassayoffice.co.uk/uploads...tals-in-uk.pdf