Thread: problem with sharp edges from barrel tumbler.

Default problem with sharp edges from barrel tumbler.

Hi, I would be very grateful if someone could help me! I am new to using a barrel tumbler ( I have the cookson gold pro max starter kit which came with mixed shot). I am finding that the edges of my pieces are coming out with burrs and sharp edges on them. I am putting them in as nice smooth rounded edges and they are coming out looking sharp and horrible! I then have to file them round again. This is mainly happening on pieces that I am making using blank stamping discs. I have attached some photos of before and after going in the tumbler incase this doesn't make sense. Apologies for awful photos but I think they just about show what I mean.I have tried using barrelbrite and washing up liquid and its the same problem with both. I can't work out how to stop this happening, any help would be hugely appreciated...

[ATTACH=CONFIG]10186[/ATTAClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1970.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	33.3 KB 
ID:	10186Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FullSizeRender.jpg 
Views:	86 
Size:	28.5 KB 
ID:	10187CH]Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FullSizeRender.jpg 
Views:	86 
Size:	28.5 KB 
ID:	10187

This complaint has never come up before and if you read the reviews on Cookson's site, there are no comments to this effect.

That doesn't mean you are wrong, but only that your case needs careful study.

The possibilities in order of likelyhood are:

1. That your disks are not sterling, but some very soft or plated metal.
    2. That there are very jagged pieces of shot in your mixture. (Most likely sharp satellites which can be sorted and taken out or filed smooth)
    3. That you are not using enough solution to cover your piece before tumbling.
    4. That you are going on far too long. About 3 hours should be enough.

Apart from that, I am out of ideas, but you might alert Cooksons. Dennis.