Thread: Heated not treated stones

Default Heated not treated stones

Hello,

As a trainee, I sometimes wonder about advanced issues....The latest quandry I have is about accidently heating a gemstone.

If I were to say, leave a Sapphire or an Emerald or even an Onyx in a setting as I expand or anneal a ring and the stone were to change colour, how can I get the stone to return to its normal colour ? Is there a shock treatment or another old fashioned way to un-darken a stone ?

I ask as I was playing with a synthetic Sapphire today and the thought crossed my mind.

Thank you in advance

If I attempted to heat a stone-set piece, I would plan to protect any stone(s) with heat resistant paste or by submerging it(them) in water.

Should they be spoiled I would expect to replace them.

Unsetting stones is a preferable option and in most cases not as difficult as it first appears. Dennis.

As far as I am aware once a stone is changed with any heat treatment it can not be reversed