Thread: Pearl Ring Cast 1888 US Dollar Coin Silver Beginner Sanity Check

Default Pearl Ring Cast 1888 US Dollar Coin Silver Beginner Sanity Check

Hi all,

I personally hate it when beginners ask vague questions on a forum and expect others to do all the work for them, however, I also know that a huge text over-explaining my issue may turn some people off, so I have a short version and an extended version of my dilemma(s):

Short Version
    I am very new at all of this and don't know if there are any a huge flaws in my plan. I would like to cast a pearl ring. Metal is from 1888 Morgan US Dollar (90% Silver 10% Copper). Based on my design, I'm thinking there will have to be some level of machining after casting. Most of the processes I'm considering involve casting a solid cylinder on top of the ring, milling/drilling out a hole from the inside/center of the ring up into the cylinder, setting the pearl up into the hole in the cylinder, and then riveting a plug in to keep the pearl in place. See below for drawings & specifics.

I'd like a nod of approval from veterans before attempting any of this. I have no idea if there are massive problems with my plan. I also welcome any and all suggestions and answers to questions below, and even any answers to questions I didn't ask but should have.

Long Version

My Skills:
    For most intents & purposes, I have no real experience making jewelry. As the son of an engineer and nephew of a machinist, I'm fairly handy and somewhat familiar with what it takes to design and work with metal. I also have a lot of tools at my disposal, but not necessarily tools that are strictly intended for what I plan on doing.

Small Backstory: