Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Silverspinner

Default Newbie Silverspinner

Hello everyone,
    My background is silver spinning small items in light gauges, based around the Birmingham area. I am hoping to add more detail to some of my items with some twisted wire work, as well as advice on soldering more delicate items. Is there anybody local who could help?
    thanks, Paul.

We would love to learn more about spinning. In return most of us can trouble shoot soldering of delicate items, once you can post pictures. Welcome to the forum, Dennis.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2ro The Lotus Rings.jpg   2ro Two Rings One Finger.jpg  

+1 on wishing to hear about your spinning.
    Welcome to the forum

I had to google spinning and you would be amazed at how many spinner rings came up and not the actual, I thought terrifying, process of spinning silver. Will also be interested to see this

Likewise - it's on my to-do list as a way of forming mokume gane vessels, I just need to build up some tooling to do it. I'm aware that an ML7 isn't the best solution, but it's what's available to me.

Welcome Paul,
    I am a trade trained goldsmith and know about spinning, I was taught how to do it by Henry Pierce. I am now retired, but when I needed large silver spinnings for parts of my my table centre epergnes my friend Stefan Coe helped me out, luckily Stefan has a workshop nearby. I only did small spinning jobs for myself like the mount on the top of this flower vase, spun in gold before being engine turned.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	25a Blue flowers RC.bottle.jpg 
Views:	37 
Size:	25.8 KB 
ID:	9652

James

Thanks very much for you replies, I had a quick search of Youtube and the nearest i could find was this [ Hand Metal Spinning a Pewter Baby Cup on a Lathe ]