Thread: I probably need to man up

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Smile I probably need to man up

Does anyone else find promoting their work difficult because it feels like showing off...or is that just me?
    I'm not talking about whipping out a piece whenever there's a lull in the conversation but just, for instance, putting things on my Facebook business page or going to a craft fair. It's a dilemma because I do want to sell my stuff and in order to do that have to put it out there.
    Would be interested to know if anyone else has felt like this and the thoughts that helped them overcome it.
    Please be gentle...if you think I am pathetic I would rather not know thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by Lily View Post
    Does anyone else find promoting their work difficult because it feels like showing off...or is that just me?
    Yup. I'm not good at proactively selling - I tend to feel it's too in-your-face and don't much like it when I see people leap on a possible customer (even worse if I've been carefully sounding them out before someone else barges into the conversation...!). Part of it is down to imposter syndrome.

I confess I had to google imposter syndrome...interesting!
    Leaping would be way out of my comfort zone - I don't like being leapt on either.

I find it really difficult too but I do an Open Studio every year so if you invite 300 people into your home you have to be able to sell yourself to a certain extent. I've just had to write my blurb for a new gallery I'm going into, although it's small I'm the only jeweller. I find it hard to tell people how beautiful, and well made and finished it is but in the end no-one else is going to, I think it sounds arrogant but then we are all a bit insecure and unsure of our capabilities or is that just me

No, not just you Caroline.
    I seem to have an inbuilt horror of being thought ''showing off''.
    Your work is lovely!