Thread: Box making advice

Default Box making advice

Hi all

I've just made this silver box. it is a long way from perfect and I'm trying to learn to make the next one better.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	silverbox.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	49.3 KB 
ID:	9054

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	silverbox1.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	55.0 KB 
ID:	9055

When cutting the lid from the main body - I'm presuming it is just practice to get this cut level! Any tips to help?

There are a few marks around the body of the box, the only thing I can think of is that I've pressed too hard onto my bench peg whilst holding it to saw.

I've also noticed that it isn't perfectly round, despite using a mandrel. I need to pay much more attention to this next time so that the lid sits perfectly on the body.

I'd be grateful for any tips on improving this

Thanks

Hello,
    I'm not an expert (not remotely) but just re the marks you spoke of (and maybe the roundness), I used to have a problem of accidentally squashing bezels while sawing / filing them. Now I fill the hollow part (where the stone would go) with a small piece of grs thermolock, which gives a bit of support to the walls from the inside while working on it. Other people will probably give you much better tips in a bit - but just in case it helps.
    Faith

Hi, making a box is quite challenging, so you have done very well. To answer some of your questions:

To scribe the side of the box, so as to separate the lid from the body, lay the scriber on some books or flat object on your bench at the required height and then rotate the body against the scriber.
    I have also found it easier to cut through patiently in several places and then join them up. Finally when rubbing the cut edges on a flat abrasive surface, describe figures of eight, to get an even effect.