Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "Twig" effect ring help

Default "Twig" effect ring help

I am seeing "twig-like" rings becoming regular and I have a great idea to use this look, but I can't seem to get the look right.

Could anyone give any advice on how they create the branch effect for a ring - is it a mould, or freehand? I am self taught in everything but can't seem to find any books or sites with this technique.
    I've attached an image of a similar look I'm going for which I have found in a store.

thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails image.jpg  

Don't know how that one was done, but I should experiment in silver first.

It might have been carved in wax, or acrylic sheet and then cast.

Personally I would carve it from wire, using burrs and then form the ring and add a twig and some claws. Start it using about 6.0cm of 2mm round wire and a cross cut cone burr, such as Cookson 979 054. If the result is too crisp, reticulate the surface by playing a small flame over it until the surface just melts and crinkles.

You will go through several pieces of wire and other types of burrs before you are satisfied, but the result can then be fairly described as your own version. Dennis

You can actually cast a twig. If you would need to find a suitable one and shape it to a ring shape then invest it when because its organic it would be burnt out leaving a void that can be filled with metal. The claws could be added with wire later
    I did try to make one in cad a while back but it wasnt that clever you cant beat mother nature

I did think later as a low tech idea, that if you soaked a piece of twig, shaped it to size around a ring stick and tied it with thread or the thin wire from a bunch of saw blades, you could press it into cuttlefish and cast a shank.

It would certainly have a rustic look. There are several tutorials about cuttlefish on U-Tube. Dennis.