Thread: Hello everybody :) newbie looking for a little advice re snake chains...

Default Hello everybody :) newbie looking for a little advice re snake chains...

I'm unsure about soldering end caps to 1.2 sterling silver snake chain. I've never done this before, and I have a tendency to overheat, and then annihilate anything delicate. Does anyone have any tips on how I can best avoid melting the chain lol. Would really appreciate any help. Thank you

Hi you are right to worry, because snake chain is not that strong in the thinner gauges and will get worse when heated. Also excess solder can make it stiff beyond the chain end.

You can use a little easy paste on the very end of the chain, insert it into the cap and heat until you see a very dull red in a darkened room. If you are lucky you will also spot the glint of solder running.

As for me, I make my own from tubing, as per per picture below and then use two part epoxy glue to circumvent the problem. Dennis.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails sb Making A Snake End.jpg  

I usually melt my solder into the cap first and then slot the chain in and heat gently, that way it doesn't run up the chain. Or as Dennis said tubing makes a tidy job