Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Melting silver torch advice needed

Default Melting silver torch advice needed

I'm a newbie and a novice jewellery maker (self taught) so please forgive my novice terminology if that's how you find my post

I am trying to dabble in melting my scrap and recasting but need a decent torch to do the job

I have many micro torches and have just invested in a maxi flame and attempted to melt some of my finer scrap but I don't feel like the metal has gotten anywhere near a decent temperature for it to flow as i expected it to, it poured way to thickly in my opinion

I have toyed with the idea of going to my local hardware store and buying a propane torch, but am starting to wonder if i should just go all out, stop wasting money, get the right tool for job, with a decent heat output to melt an ingot or three!

As I understand it, oxy map is the best for this job.

I have found a kit on ebay for £128, which includes oxy tank, map tank, hoses, stand for tanks and welding goggles. Am I buying the right kit for the right price?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

If it's this kind of thing - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/POWERGAS-B...-/151983535003 then I would strongly recommend against it. The runtime on those O2 cylinders is utterly pathetic for the money they cost - if you get as much as 15mins run from one of those you should be pleased. Consumable costs very quickly make working with either a bigger O2 cylinder or an oxygen concentrator a viable option.

I'd do some research (or find a gas welding course) if you're going to go the O2 cylinder route though. Compressed oxygen can make life very... interesting, very quickly.

A propane torch such as a Sievert can put out a fair amount of heat - certainly enough for casting ingots, although it's better in a brazing hearth to keep the heat contained.

There are pages and pages of information, if you browse likely looking headings here:http://www.cooksongold.com/forum/sea...earchid=858441