Thread: cairngorm

Default cairngorm

Hi trying to find a genuine piece of cairngorm amberish colour 30mm x 15mm x 10mm rough for
    mounting to the top of a Skin Duhb

Yes I did post a request last year, I was just hoping something may come up, seems like a it is a impossible task I will have to substitute something else, is any one aware of any other uniquely Scottish stones I may be able to use.

The only uniquely Scottish stones I know of are probably from the Scottish agates link on that post, they had some nice stones if I remember.The only other option would be to look for an antique piece of jewellery online and reuse a stone which wouldn't be the size you want and would probably be a smoky Quartz. On our lapidary excursions when I was a student we only ever found agates, there are some spectacular ones but cairngorm is a touristy thing.
    Good luck
    Last edited by CJ57; 23-02-2016 at 11:11 AM.

Thanks for all the replies and helpful suggestions, however the quest has been solved, I was telling my friend Kym about it and he went out into his
    band practice room and produced a damaged Plaid Brooch with a large Cairngorm in the center that I can have re-cut,( I don't do Faceting ) so all has worked
    out well
    Last edited by china; 23-02-2016 at 02:00 PM.

this is weird! I made two Skin Dubh design tie pins earlier this year - the chap had picked up some bloodstone on a Scottish island which we got cut into cabs - looks from reading up that local supplies of the cairngorm quartz is pretty much depleted and imported stock is being used.