Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Addicted

Default Addicted

Hi

I’ve been lurking around here for the last three years fuelling my addiction. I started off using silver clay and had no idea how to use sterling silver but after so many hours of watching youtube videos and reading this forum feel I’ve learnt so many new skills.
    I’m only a hobbyist and frankly have spent a lot of money practicing and messed up many times and still do!

There were times I wanted to cry at the money I’d wasted and how stupid I felt but then because of my addiction I got over it pretty quick.
    Now I’m in a place where I know my limitations and recently had a jewellery sale at work to raise money for a brain tumour charity offering 15% of my sales and raised £50 in half an hour!

I really only do everyday stuff which sells well with my friends and family but a highlight for me was over a year ago was when I made a pendant and earring set which I sold to a friend for £35. She rang me a few weeks later and said her jeweller had insured the the set for £350!

Might sound mad but it’s not just the jewellery making I seriously have a penchant for the tools and if I can’t afford a new tool every month I tend to get withdrawal systems!

Welcome Lynn, but dont lurk any more and tell us of your experiences. Some pictures would be good too. Dennis.

Quote Originally Posted by Lynn.D View Post
    I made a pendant and earring set which I sold to a friend for £35. She rang me a few weeks later and said her jeweller had insured the the set for £350!
    And you're still her friend?
    Welcome to the forum, Lynn!

Welcome from me too, tool addiction is part of it I'm afraid. I tell hubby that I cant do a particular job without a certain tool, but I think he has cottoned on now. I am also a hobbyist, my special joy is pliers, I have about 30 pairs, most of them are slightly different but basically they all do more or less the same.

Quote Originally Posted by Lynn.D View Post
    Hi