Thread: Ring help

Default Ring help

Hi all, I wonder if you could help.

I'm needing to make this, in s/s and 18 gold. It's my first time with gold, and anything this complex, so I'd like to check I'm not an idiot. My plan goes like this:
    • Make inner ring slightly under size
    • Make 2 outer rings in s/s
    • Make centre band in 18Au
    • fit outer rings over inner ring
    • stretch inner to secure outer rings tight
    • solder whole thing with silver solder, borax to flux

To solder, I'm hoping that pallions around one edge of the assembly will wick all the way through, and into the gaps between bands. What do you think? Advice much appreciated.

Thank you in advance,
    Sean

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ring.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	23.5 KB 
ID:	8640

Hello Sean,

I wouldnt go about making the inner ring significantly undersized, then go stretching it to begin with.

When I'm making finger rings I always make them a touch smaller though, as this allows a margin for when you refine the ring therefore making it a touch larger.

As you're talking about stacking them so to speak, you'll need to make sure the ring cross-section is square to allow for a good solder joint. Alternatively you could of course always do the inner gold ring in square section, and the two outer silver rings in D section perhaps, with one edge squared off.

Personally I'd flux the outside edges of all three rings ( when they touch ) and also flux the seams on the inside of the ring. I'd also put solder pallions in the inside of the ring as they'll be easier to blend in, or you could sweat solder all three of them. As you say, once the piece is up to sufficient heat, simply move the touch from the inside to the outside and vice versa to ensure the capillary action of the solder on both sides.

Hope this helps.

Nick

Please forgive me if I repeat what has already been said but:

Get all stretching done before soldering, or the solder will break.