Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is my torch faulty or is it me?!

Default Is my torch faulty or is it me?!

Hi all. My first post so please be gentle!
    I'm new to jewellery making and a while ago I purchased a Max Flame Butane Torch (not from Cookson, sorry!). From the outset I've had an issue with it. Trying to fire PMC and over the three minutes, the flame gets progressively smaller & more difficult to work with, even when I've just filled it. This is my first ever torch so I don't know if this is normal or if it's faulty (or if there's something I'm doing wrong). It happens irrespective of the angle I use it at. Any advice greatly appreciated! I've even made a YouTube video if I'm allowed to post a link?
    Hester

Hi Hester, This and a standard weeny hand torch are all I use. I have to say I've never had that kind of issue with it (although I use my weeny torch for any PMC usually as I only have ever done small pieces). Is the slider that controls the flame size on the side slipping maybe, or at a lower setting than you need? Mine does need topping up regularly, but am pretty sure it could handle 3 minutes! A vid would be handy, feel free to PM me as I don't think you can post links yet.

Thanks LydiaNiz! Have PMd you

Quote Originally Posted by anturdesigns View Post
    Hi all. My first post so please be gentle!
    I'm new to jewellery making and a while ago I purchased a Max Flame Butane Torch (not from Cookson, sorry!). From the outset I've had an issue with it. Trying to fire PMC and over the three minutes, the flame gets progressively smaller & more difficult to work with, even when I've just filled it.