Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Drilling with Foredom

Default Drilling with Foredom

Hi All,
    I recently purchased a Foredom pendant motor from Cousins UK. (https://www.cousinsuk.com/product/je...-jaw-handpiece) It was an impulse purchase, one that I shouldn’t have made as I am still very new to jewellery making. Anyhow, I cannot seem to drill a hole in to a 2mm sterling silver sheet. I think I have spent 15 minutes trying to drill a hole and have only managed to go half way. If anyone can suggest what I may be doing wrong I would really appreciate it.
    Thank you

Sofina

Quote Originally Posted by cartres View Post
    Hi All,
    I recently purchased a Foredom pendant motor from Cousins UK. (https://www.cousinsuk.com/product/je...-jaw-handpiece) It was an impulse purchase, one that I shouldn’t have made as I am still very new to jewellery making. Anyhow, I cannot seem to drill a hole in to a 2mm sterling silver sheet. I think I have spent 15 minutes trying to drill a hole and have only managed to go half way. If anyone can suggest what I may be doing wrong I would really appreciate it.
    Thank you

Sofina
    Well a few ideas anyway...
    Prime the location for drilling by creating a small point depression using any number of small tools e.g. carbide tip. This not only gives the bit somewhere to start but reduces teh chance the bit will skid off location when drilling.
    Pre-drill using a small drill bit (make sure the bit is appropriate for drilling metal)
    Lube the drill-bit with a light oil, wax or bespoke product
    Drill slowly - I don't know how slow a Foredom will go, but I usually use manual methods to start out.

Hope this helps

Quote Originally Posted by cartres View Post
    Hi All,
    Thank you

Sofina
    The motor has a forward and reverse gear. Are you sure you've not got it in reverse?
    Also, have a look at the state of your drill bit under magnification. Is its tip in good condition?

Dear Sofina,