Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: bezel and cutting it to the right length

Default bezel and cutting it to the right length

Ok - So how does everyone measure their bezel strip when wanting to set a stone? I'm a beginner and using small buttons instead of stones and finding it really fiddly winding the bezel strip around the button and doing it that way - surely there's a better way to do it that's more acurate and less fiddly.
    Find Milomade online - follow the links below....
    Website | Instagram

Hmm you could use one of those plastic ring sizers that cooksons sell
    (they're white plastic slidy things) Measure the size with that then flatten it out & cut the strip to the length it measured. You'd still have to wind it round the button eventually though (as you'd need to shape it prior to soldering the seam and attaching it to whatever base you're using)...

Nic x
    Monthly FREE entry giveaways on Blogs!
    Shop Blog: http://muranosilver.blogspot.com/
    Silver Clay Blog: http://pmctips.blogspot.com/
    View images of my work on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/muranosilver

Thumbs up

that's a good idea - would probably have to make my own though as the buttons a smaller than teh average finger...I could even use a bit of old measuring tape.

Thanks!
    Problem solved.

I've got 40 buttons to do this w/e, so that's going to help a lot.
    Website | Instagram

I measure the diameter of the stone if it is round, then calculate the circumference from that and then the really technical bit, I add a smidge on to account for the thickmess of the bezel strip! You've then also got a bit of leeway to file down to a perfect join for soldering.

Hi was wondering can anybody share with me what size sheet silver they use for the back of a bezel????

Quote Originally Posted by amazingbabe View Post
    Hi was wondering can anybody share with me what size sheet silver they use for the back of a bezel????