Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Saw Blade Brand Recommendations, Please

Default Saw Blade Brand Recommendations, Please

I finally ran out of the unbranded saw blades I purchased two years ago. I'm a newbie, but was pleased that I finally reached the stage where I rarely broke a blade .. they go dull first. Hence, I decided to treat myself and bought Vallorbe blades from Cookson.

Well, in two days practicing piercing out a copper butterfly I've broken four blades. I'm using 0.8 copper sheet and a 2/0 blade, which should be okay per the info on Cookson. The last blade broke after being used to cut out 1.5 cms left where it's predecessor gave up. I was about to finish reinserting the blade to start a new area, the copper butterfly resting gently on a mat so as not to put any pressure on the blade ... and the blade broke in the middle. I've tried the blades with my simple German saw frame and my lovely Knew Concept frame and it makes no difference.

I've convinced myself that it's the blades and not me ... not at this rate of blade failure anyway. On the other hand ... maybe I should change blade size? Copper seem to be a bit more "robust" than silver.

I'd appreciate it if someone could recommend a UK source for reliable saw blades.

Stacey, I am not sure if Cookson's Vallorbe blades are the same as the ones I use, remember Vallorbe is a place in Switzerland, I am sure if they are Glardon Vallorbe they should say so on their saw pages!
    I get my Glardon - Vallorbe - Super, jewellers saw blades from here; http://www.eurofindings.com/Results?q=saw+blades.
    You can also get them here; https://www.hswalsh.com/product/supe...ade-20-tb14820

This shows a pack of the blades I like using;
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Glardon Vallorbe 3-0 size blades.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	25.9 KB 
ID:	7975

James
    Last edited by Goldsmith; 27-07-2015 at 10:58 AM.

You're not alone, have a look at this thread.
    clicky