Thread: Advice for a special project please

Default Advice for a special project please

Hi everyone,
    I'm hoping that someone could please give me some advice?
    I'm fairly new to jewellery making & my knowledge & skills still fairly basic however my best friend who has more faith than me has asked if i will make jewellery (stretch bracelets) for her 6 bridesmaids. She has seen an idea of stacked sterling silver, pearl & swarovski bracelets with charms and wants 3 each person.
    I've searched about but am confused - some people say they use professional grade jewellery elastic - but what is that? I apologise in advance if this is rather a stupid question? I have seen Stretch Magic and Powercord but am unclear what is the difference between these and professional grade? I want to make sure that I use the best materials I can and would hate for anything to go wrong
    Any advice would be much appreciated.
    Thankyou

Hi,I'm no expert but I'll give it a shot,on the few occasions Iv done stretch bracelets, which was quite a few years ago I seem to remember that stretch cord comes in different thicknesses and grades,I usesd to always double over mu cord for added safety and pop o blob of glue on the knot because this will be your wea point. Have a look on http://www.beadsdirect.co.uk/beading.../elastic-cord/
    hope this helps.

Hi Moo welcome to the forum

I'm not sure if anyone can answer your question, I have no experience of elasticated bracelets but in the meantime you might find the answers you need on the bead company websites who usually have a guidance page. Maybe try Beadworks or similar and then check back, someone may come back later with some help

You might also like to enquire in a beaders forum such as: http://ukbeaders.forumup.org/ Dennis.

Hi Moo

My partner who has a great deal of knowledge on this subject will answer your query,