Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 925 that won't tarnish

Default 925 that won't tarnish

hi there,
    Is there anyway for 925 silver not to tarnish?

Rural Somerset, between Yeovil and Shepton Mallet

Default 925 that won't tarnish

925 silver is mainly an alloy of silver (92.5%) and copper (up to 7.5%) and it is the copper on the surface that tarnishes to a black film. Just polishing it off reveals fresh copper that will itself tarnish.

So the aim is to reduce the surface copper. This can be done by plating with pure silver, or more easily pickling the 925 ( which leaches out the surface copper and will turn the piece matt white) and then Gently polishing with a very fine polish such as jewellers rouge. This should significantly reduce surface copper and hence tarnishing.

I am a relative beginner but know a bit about metallurgy, some of the more expert silversmiths may be able to give you other methods.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by BarryM; 15-10-2014 at 07:48 PM.
    Barry the Flying Silversmith👍

A lot of large commercial producers will plate with fine silver to avoid tarnish (and to avoid doing a proper job of polishing as well). I think it's a sloppy option, and it will wear off.

If strong anti-tarnish properties are important to you, you might want to try a different sterling alloy - argentium is the obvious one, but Cookson's own Reflections Silver, whilst not quite as good IMO, does have better tarnish resistance.

Otherwise, storage is important. Keeping pieces stored in airtight boxes or bags and using anti-tarnish tabs both help a lot.

Do you know where you can get Argentium wire from George?
    Im using Reflections atm as couldn't find Argentium.

Quote Originally Posted by BarryM View Post
    925 silver is mainly an alloy of silver (92.5%) and copper (up to 7.5%) and it is the copper on the surface that tarnishes to a black film. Just polishing it off reveals fresh copper that will itself tarnish.