Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 925 Stamp

Question 925 Stamp

Hi
    I'm very new to all this, but before I get too far into making sterling silver items, I wonder if you can help me with the mechanics of stamping items under the 7.78gm assay limit? I have some little tags that are ready-stamped, but they are a bit clunky for some of the pieces I'm making, so I'd quite like to be able to stamp the 925 onto the flattened clasp of a necklace, for instance. However I can't find a stamp anywhere on the Cookson site - or anywhere else for that matter. I'm sure there must be one somewhere - any info anybody? Also - quite how does stamping work - can it be done by hammering, or does it need rather more than that?
    If this is a really dim question, forgive me, I'm still really feeling my way with all this, and wanting to run the marathon before I've taken a leisurely stroll, if you know what I mean!!
    Thank you - and isn't it wonderful that it's the weekend, at last I can spend 3 days making jewellery instead of feeling guilty that I'm not doing the work that pays my bills!
    Last edited by llamacat; 29-08-2009 at 12:54 PM.

Su' xx

My FB fanpage -https://www.facebook.com/CintaHandCraftedJewellery
    My Website www.cintahandcraftedjewellery.co.uk

I want to learn so much, and i want to know it all NOW!!!:p

One day i will arrive

A huggle a day makes the bad stuff go away

lol think we were yping at the same time lol
    Su' xx

My FB fanpage -https://www.facebook.com/CintaHandCraftedJewellery
    My Website www.cintahandcraftedjewellery.co.uk

I want to learn so much, and i want to know it all NOW!!!:p

One day i will arrive

A huggle a day makes the bad stuff go away

Lol - thank you all very much! I knew it had to be there somewhere - I guess putting 925 stamp in the search engine was my problem - used the wrong terminology.