Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how best to sandwich a piece of silver and copper together? 7th Anniversary gift

Default how best to sandwich a piece of silver and copper together? 7th Anniversary gift

Hi,

I'm new to this, but pretty skilled generally.
    I want to make my wife an item of jewellery for our 7th wedding anniversary. I'm thinking of using silver and copper, and would like to make a pendant from a slices of each metal (say 1.2mm thick each) sandwiching them together, flat side to flat side. What is the best way to do this?

Should I silver solder them together? If so then what is the best method of doing that and what tools will I need? I already have some copper but plan on ordering some silver (925?) and a saw (advice on which type of saw would be welcome as well.

Once I've got them merged, I plan on stamping them with the date or something like that.

Thanks
    Joel

You could just rivet them together Joel, which would mean the need for less tools and materials. I'm sure you probably already have a drill kit so it would mean drilling small holes, silver or copper wire to the same dimension, a flat hard surface to put it on and a hammer and a small punch or steel rod to hammer the rivet. I like the use of rivets either for joining pieces together or decoration. Otherwise to solder you will need silver solder, flux, a torch, pickle, fire bricks or some other soldering surface. You could also riveta bail for the pendant using contrasting rivets meaning that the whole piece is cold connected. Hope this gives you some ideas Caroline

Welcome to the forum too!

Anyhow whatever you decide, practice just with copper first to save waste.

If you decide to go the soldering route look up how to sweat solder. The Cookson soldering starter kit will do fine for this, but in addition you will need a means to keep your pickle solution warm. Most of us use a cheap slow cooker for this.

Keep asking the questions. Welcome to the forum. Dennis.