Thread: Hi.. London calling…

Default Hi.. London calling…

Hi folks,

I first registered here many years ago under the username ‘SilverPlayer’ but haven’t posted anything in a very long time. I lost my password, changed my ISP, old email address is now defunct, hence I’ve had to re-register. However, I do follow the forum everyday and have picked up many a good tip from you talented folk.

During the day, I’m a web developer/test engineer. In my free time, I work mostly in silver metal clay but also work in Sterling silver, in particular chainmaille and have been doing so for around 4 years. I am a fervent advocate of Kate McKinnon’s techniques using silver metal clay and suggest anyone seriously contemplating using this medium to invest in her Sculptural Metal Clay Jewelry: Techniques and Explorations.

Together with more metal clay work, I am working at improving my silversmithing skills and also in time, would like to experiment with adding colour to my metal e.g. patinas, vitreous enamels etc.

All in all, I look forward to learning and sharing!

Regards,

V

Welcome back Vi

Welcome to the forum.
    By some amazing coincidence Kate McKinnon's book just arrived through my letterbox this morning, was very drawn to her style and the way she puts work together. Have only done polymer clay previously and thought I'd have a play with the metal clay. Look forward to seeing your work

Thanks for the welcome, George and Emma!

Welcome back!!!

Welcome back probably missed you first time round as I'm fairly new

Thanks Emma!

Good news on getting the book!

Kate’s techniques are sound, simple and effective.