Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question for Hobbyists!

Default Question for Hobbyists!

How do you cope with the constant onslaught of comments like "You should be selling that........." or "you could make a living doing that............" when it comes to your jewellery ?

I'm very much aware I'm just a beginner, and I do sell odd bits just to get cash back for some more tools, however really what I'd like to do is just enjoy creating and learning at the moment. It seems like everyone assumes if you do something you are doing it for a career change or more money. Gone are the days of just hobbies so it seems. Whilst it's nice people like what I do, it's also a lot of added pressure, particularly from those close to me, when there's this assumption you are going to have a glittering and lucrative career change in jewellery! I know most people's perceptions don't add up to the reality of how hard it is, but try telling them that!

Emma I am in the same position, that I only make for family and friends. To make pieces for sale at reasonable price, you have to pare down the fancy bits and sacrifice much of the pleasure.
    That is unless you are famous and have a following of fans who collect your work. Dennis.