Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beaten by bezel

Default Beaten by bezel

Huff...

I need to vent a little. Tonight i started making a basic bezel setting for a 7x5mm cabochon emerald. Ive done a few bezel settings before but all self taught so I'm not really any good at it. First of all i still haven't worked out an easy way of wrapping the bezel wire around the stone so I end up with little dents in it from using pliers or something stupid. Soldered the first one.... Melted the wall. So i started again and made it to small and couldn't stretch it enough to go over the stone. Made a third and AGAIN it was to small and by this point i screwed it up and through across the room. I then soldered a fourth one to large.

I've basically had a crappy night that has just destroyed my confidence that I'm ever going to be able to make jewellery considering i cant even make the simplest of settings! Sorry about this post its pointless but i just needed to vent before i threw all my jewellery kit out of the window.

Good night

Sounds disheartening John, but maybe you were just tired or trying too hard? Sometimes I find it useful to take things slowly, sometimes having a break or to sit back and carefully work out the next step or how to proceed.
    I myself often make mistakes as I'm still very much a novice so I wouldn't get too annoyed. Wasted materials is also par for the course at times!

Nick

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Hi Jon - well you are ahead of me as I have never yet managed to successfully set a bezel. The maths is (relatively) simple, but I'm convinced that the torch fairy knows when I have a perfectly sized bezel and shrinks it. Naturally s/he leaves a slightly large ones, slightly large.

Crappy nights where nothing goes right are hugely frustrating but probably there's not a person who reads your post that can't empathise.