Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Achieving a high mirror finish

Default Achieving a high mirror finish

Hi all,

Hoping someone can help with how to achieve a mirror finish (minus scratches) on sterling silver. I have got a dremel-type set which has polishing mops and I've bought 3 grades of the radial polishers to use with this. I've also got tripoli and rouge but so far haven't managed to achieve the finish I want to. Any ideas?

Thanks

Ivy

I seem to be replying to my own question, but I've just searched through the questions and found a similar thread from Nick. I will take on board all that has been said to him. I am a newbie so please forgive......

Ivy

Quote Originally Posted by Ivy View Post
    I seem to be replying to my own question, but I've just searched through the questions and found a similar thread from Nick. I will take on board all that has been said to him. I am a newbie so please forgive......Ivy
    It all depends on the kind of thing you are trying to polish, Ivy. So if in doubt, tell us or let us see what you are making. Dennis.

Thanks Dennis,
    I'm making a small teddy bear out of sterling silver sheet. It hasn't got anything soldered on it (yet) but I still don't seem to be able to remove the tiny scratches. Reading the comments made to Nick, is a tumbler the only option?
    Ivy

Hi Ivy,

Following all the interesting and useful advice I received, I decided to go with the traditional method of polishing silver. IE using Tripoli as a pre-polish, followed by rouge for the final polish.

So far it's working a treat, although I need to be mindful and on the lookout for fire-scale as always. I'm also switching over to reflections silver to see if that helps any.

In the end I decided against using a tumbler device, because it seems too brutal to me and it doesn't selectively burnish finer areas of jewellery. It just hammers everywhere.

Nick

dear old Blighty - (in deepest Wiltshire)