Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help! How do I repair my fired art clay?

Default Help! How do I repair my fired art clay?

Hello - sorry about being a complete beginner.

I have a heart shape made from art clay, fired by using a torch, which was not a very good replica - so I thought perhaps I could "repair" it by using art clay paste on it, and then "re-firing" it, also with a torch.

This has not turned out very well! So how would anyone else do it? Should I have used soldering items, such as safety pickle, and pallions?

I would very much appreciate any help here.

Thank you.
    Helen Stocking

I'm not really sure Helen. Could you fuse it to some fine silver sheet? If it were me, I think I'd put it down to experience and make another piece and roll it a bit thicker this time.

Hi Helen,

Some years back several people would have come forward with advice on this, but recently there seems to have been a decline in users of clay.

Most of us have experience of clay and dough from our pre-school days, so it is not surprising that some aspiring jewellers have seen it as a way to start making without the need for traditional jewellery skills. As you are finding out there is in fact quite a steep learning curve but all the new skills needed lead to a dead end, because all you are doing ultimately is using dough.

I would recommend that you make a start on working with sheet and wire and learning to drill, saw,solder and make simple rub down settings. Copper is a relatively inexpensive material, compared with clay and if you look at our current competition you will see it used to make marvelous things.

Regards, Dennis.

Thank you very much indeed! I went to two different classes to learn how to make art clay into pendants and charms. The other two I went to were to learn (a little bit) of how to use silver sheets and saw it and solder it. But doing it on one's own is not quite the same! Now I fear I might get it wrong.