Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Moving with the times.

Default Moving with the times.

Good morning all.
    Hope you're all taking so much needed time off after all the xmas chaos.

As a certain search engine has decided it would make things almost impossible for little fish like me to be seen on their shopping search and on their main searches infact, without paying their extortionate rates I have to move onto galleries sooner than I would have liked too.
    I'm currently selling with an excellent craft shop who's rental rates are fantastic and even though I've only been there a few months it's proving to be the best move I ever made.
    However, I would now like to expand a little.
    A very dear friend of mine has pointed me to another local gallery, but this one operates on a sale or return basis at 30% comission.
    As I need to move with times or risk loosing my business, I would like to know what rates are fair for galleries to charge?

As I'm a complete nooblet to galleries, I'm wide open to be taken advantage off, potentially. So I would love to gain more knowledge to avoid any nasty surprises.
    Thankyou in advance.
    Sian Williamson

I don't know about the rates Sian, but sale or return makes me nervous about getting stuff back. Some galleries don't rate their jewellers very highly and mess them about. They can also suddenly close down. That's me---the eternal pessimist. Dennis.

I'm the same, Dennis. I trust no-one. To be honest I do prefer the shelf rental way rather than sale or return for exactly the reasons you mentioned. You're ~probably~ more likely to get any unsold stuff back if you've paid the shelf rent should their business close. What would be more ideal is someone to buy on wholesale type terms, but as yet I haven't found one of those.
    The 30% seems a bit steep to me too, but again as I'm a nooblet with galleries, for all I know that could be the norm.