Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Soldering

Default Soldering

Soldering so far seems to be my weak point! Today I soldered a couple pieces of metal together using medium strip solder and it turned out ok, though I see I missed an area. I have a bit of a problem keeping those little silver solder pieces from flying away!

My next pieces to solder on the same piece I used an easy silver solder paste. After three times of soldering and ending up with a very weak join that broke with the slightest resistance I've quit for the night. I've never used solder paste before and not quite sure what to make of it. Is it supposed to get the liquid look the same as solder strip? It never really seemed to and I had it under fire for what seemed too long. Tomorrow I am going to put a blob of solder paste on a scrap piece of metal uncovered and hit it with a torch to see how it reacts and how long it takes.

Are there other options for soldering delicate areas that are appropriate such as a soldering iron maybe?

As long as your join is good, you should find that paste solder works in the same way and you get the same "flash". I only use it when I'm soldering something onto something else like a gold heart onto a ring where it's difficult to use a pallion. I also use it when soldering small things like jump rings. It's just as strong as strip solder.

What could I be doing wrong that my joins aren't holding? Is it possible I am overheating it? I figured too much heat must be better than not enough but maybe not. And then I'm never quite sure what the best way to clean the metal prior to soldering. I've tried sanding with fine paper, pickled, used mineral spirits, sometimes washing up liquid but haven't decided what actually works. Maybe there was a residue on the metal?