Thread: Polishing

Unhappy Polishing

Help! Can anyone please tell me, why does my silver clay piece turn almost black whilst polishing with a mop head attached to a Dremel, and using rouge? As you can probably tell I am a novice! I started the piece off with sanding cloths, going down the grades, where am I going wrong?

I have never used silver clay but I have used rouge to polish sterling silver. It's the rouge that turns black, it's normal. You need to scrub off the compound with soapy water and a toothbrush or if you are lucky enough to own one, put it in an ultra sonic cleaner. If you have used Tripoli as well make sure you clean off all the residue before you move on to rouge and don't use the same mop heads, you need to use seperate mop heads for all polishing compounds and take care not to contaminate them. I hope that makes sense. It is very scary when a nice shiny piece goes all black and icky when you are trying to polish it but truly that is absolutely normal and it will wash off fine leaving a super shiny finish (if you have worked through the steps). Alternatively I know someone who only uses a brass brush head in a dremel to polish silver clay this leaves no residue and creates a slightly satin finish, it's good for getting into uneven surfaces so perfect if you are doing finger prints.
    Tasha
    X
    Tasha
    X
    www.truffleandpodge.co.uk

LOVE LIKE YOU WANT TO BE LOVED

Quote Originally Posted by Truffle & Podge View Post
    Alternatively I know someone who only uses a brass brush head in a dremel to polish silver clay this leaves no residue and creates a slightly satin finish, it's good for getting into uneven surfaces so perfect if you are doing finger prints.TashaX