Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Beginner's Project Ideas

Lightbulb Beginner's Project Ideas

Hello jewellery makers,

Does anyone have ideas (preferably with instructions!) for beginner's jewellery projects? I am most intrigued by designs using both silver and copper, challenging but not too difficult as I am not too experienced at anything (YET)!
    Last edited by Sandra; 28-08-2013 at 09:23 PM.

Hi Sandra. Without knowing what equipment you have, it would be difficult to recommend anything.

Many beginners just start with metal clays and never get much further. You can produce some credible pieces that way, with only a few tools, but it's an expensive way to use metals and hardly familiarises you with the jewellers craft.

What immediately springs to mind is to recommend a beginners book with projects and you might get TWO-IN-ONE MANUALS JEWELLERY, by Madeline Coles, which is not too expensive, has 23 projects and lots about the common jewellery techniques.

Another short cut is to join a part time beginners curse, so that you can get a better overview of the subject and try all the tools.

Let us know how you get on. Welcome to the forum, Dennis.

Thanks for the replies, and I realise now I didn't give vey much information! Supplies I have are bench vice, bench pin, jewellers saw, torch, soldering materials, various types of pliers and hammers, drill, metal alphabet punches, bracelet-size mandrel and probably other things I can't think of at the moment.
    I've worked a bit with clay but I'm not satisfied with that- I need to get into actual actual metal work!

dear old Blighty - (in deepest Wiltshire)

for some really basic and good ideas (and tips) Stephen O'Keefe is a good starter for 10 for ideas and designs, techniques and ideas with a variety of metals. I got myself a copy according to amazon at the beginning of January 2004 - good grief, really, how time flies when you are having fun at the bench.