Thread: What is your favorite & least favorite part of metal smithing?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Question What is your favorite & least favorite part of metal smithing?

Admin and pricing dilemmas not included, Which little bits do you really look forward to? Is it the designing or flash of inspiration maybe? The very first cut or snip of a new project? piercing? soldering? or what about the final finishing touches? And on the other end of the spectrum what makes you quake and shudder or just generally sigh aloud?

For me i do love to pierce if i can take time and try to get it flowing nicely and as a fashion graduate i adore sketching out ideas. But my brazing torch send shivers up my spine (though i hope with practice it will get less scary) and i would say sanding through the grades can be tedious but there's that silver lining of watching the shine slowly appear (fiddly crevices are still a pain in the proverbial Grrrr!)

What floats your boat and grinds your gears guys?
    Tasha
    X
    Tasha
    X
    www.truffleandpodge.co.uk

LOVE LIKE YOU WANT TO BE LOVED

Design and polishing.

Everything in between is a nightmare.

The best part is getting an invoice paid on time and in full. And I also like piercing and shaping metals.

James

Having spent most of the day making a simple hinged piece, I'd say hinges are my most hated thing. I like design but hate polishing. When hinges aren't involved, I love soldering as I'm a bit of a pyromaniac.

Like Carole, hate polishing, so I spend a lot of time avoiding it. Radial discs are my best friends

Love designing. Love soldering. Quite like hinges. HATE box clasps (well I do today anyway...)

radial discs are in my wish list!
    X
    Tasha
    X
    www.truffleandpodge.co.uk

LOVE LIKE YOU WANT TO BE LOVED

I hate filing and soon reach for my rotary tools.