Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Setters cement cooksons 999 681

Default Setters cement cooksons 999 681

"Setters Cement" cooksons 999 681...looked on knowledge base for product information...safety datasheets and product information...but could find no other information other than that provided in catalogue. If, as stated, it is removed by using acetone, what is it...? I came across this when looking for "pitch"...Looks like pitch...weight and price about right for pitch...synthetic/natural?...but without information I do not know what it is...

When I was an apprentice we used to have to make our own setter's cement along with other pitch based products like cutler's cement as the workshop craftsmen
    all had their own recipes and preferences for cement mixtures.
    I used to melt natural Stockholm pitch in a ladle over a gas ring and then add either plaster of Paris or rouge powder or a mixture of both, then I would pour it into a stick mold made up of a row of old flat files laid on a steel flat plate, when cool I ended up with 12 inch square lengths of cement, the setter used to melt this onto a round wooden chuck or onto the end of a 4 inch length of 1 inch diameter wooden dowel.
    An easy method of cleaning off setters cement or pitch based products is to let it soak in a jar of "Polyclens" paint brush cleaner, which dissolves most natural pitch based products.
    here endeth the lesson!
    James

Quote Originally Posted by noname View Post
    "Setters Cement" cooksons 999 681...looked on knowledge base for product information...safety datasheets and product information...but could find no other information other than that provided in catalogue. If, as stated, it is removed by using acetone, what is it...? I came across this when looking for "pitch"...Looks like pitch...weight and price about right for pitch...synthetic/natural?...but without information I do not know what it is...