Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cleaning up bezel settings

Default Cleaning up bezel settings

I'm slowly trying to get my work to be perfect (lol I know I have a long road ahead!!) but I find every so often I learn something new and my work takes another step forward ~ natural progression for someone mainly self taught. Anyway looking at some of my bezels and reading I think I need a scorper ~ what size do you recommend to begin with?? Then they say they need to be it must be sized, mounted, and sharpened??!!

Can anyone help
    TIA

I'd go for a 1 or a 1.2mm flat for bright cutting bezels - but you will need to be able to sharpen it yourself. Probably not worth going for HSS at the moment - it takes longer to blunt, but it also takes longer to sharpen. Setting them up isn't bad, but shout if you need help with it!

I agree with Peter, a 1mm flat scorper is ideal for cleaning rub overs. I use Glarden Vallorbe, chrome steel scorpers, if the sizes haven't changed then a number 10 is
    the size you need. A bench grinder is really useful for sizing and shaping your scorpers as they are quite long when new and need to be shortened to suit your hand size.
    I grind all of my scorpers to fit my hand and also to suit their purpose as I do also shape them so that I can cut inside hollows. I prepared a photo tutorial for another website recently, showing my method of shaping, hardening and tempering, polishing and sharpening a scorper ready for use. Below is a copy of the photo sheet, if it is not readable, PM me and I will send you a Zip file of larger photos.
    James

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Preparing a scorper sheet with script.jpg 
Views:	39 
Size:	48.4 KB 
ID:	3056
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Preparing a scorper sheet.jpg  
    Last edited by Goldsmith; 19-07-2011 at 12:05 PM.