Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Koil Kutter users

Default Koil Kutter users

Hi,

When I introduced myself to the forum I mentioned that my partner had bought a Koil Kutter for my birthday. It has now arrived, as has the copper wire I ordered for practice. However I am a little 'scared' of starting as I am not a professional jeweller and have no experience of winding and cutting large amounts of wire. Any tips to get me started and over my trepidation will be gratefully received.

Linda

Hi Linda

Take a look here: HowTo Use a Koil Kutter it's a really good tutorial if you aren't sure where to start.
    Lucinda

That says it all, Lucinda, but I'm wondering about ear plugs. Does it have a scary scream? Dennis.

Quote Originally Posted by Dennis View Post
    That says it all, Lucinda, but I'm wondering about ear plugs. Does it have a scary scream? Dennis.
    Haha! No Dennis, it's not that loud. You need to protect your eyes, but your ears ought to be fine!
    Lucinda

Hi Linda,

I've not had my kutter long and it does take a bit of getting used to and you may go through a lot of copper! lol One thing that does help me is to put masking tape on the coil to stop the rings jumping about. How will you be winding the wire, are you using a drill?

Kind regards
    Anita

Anita - masking tape is not a good way of holding the rings in place - and you'll make a mess of your blade far faster that way. If you don't want loose rings after you've cut, just thread a bit of shirring elastic or stretch magic loosely through the coil and tie the ends together before you cut. Your rings will then be nicely held together on one string. I do think they take a little longer to deburr in the tumbler with this technique though.

Hello to All

At the moment I cut my rings using a saw. I would be very interested in a cutter but would like someone to answer a couple of questions..

Are there any other makes of cutter or is Koi the only one?