Thread: Rock Tumbler!!...

Default Rock Tumbler!!...

Hey Guys

Im a newbie to the site. Ive spent literally ALL morning reading through old posts especailly this 'Ask the experts' section.

Ive been interested in Jewellery making and have been dabbling for a few years on and off. My husband bought me a Rock Tumbler from Manchester minerals for christmas last year. I was, looking back, rather ungrateful because didnt actually know what to do with it. Perfume im good at but ya cant wear a rock tumbler!! (he was just as ungrateful for his present but thats an other story!! He doesnt 'DO' christmas!!)

So back to the actual point of my post!!... After all my reading this morning I felt I should give it a go. So its tumbling away in the garage.

So firstly thanks for the inspiration to get out of its box.

*Secondly My question*.....how long would you recommend to do the tumbling, the booklet recommends one week but you guys are the experts that use the equipment.

Thanks

Gayle

hello! glad you are finding a use for your rock tumbler. I've found mine very useful. I use stainless steel shot and I normally find things come out pretty shiny after about half an hour.

Um, I guess you're using your rock tumbler for actually tumbling rocks Gayle? Most of us use them for polishing silver and gold jewellery, hence Alexandra's reply.

I'm afraid I've not much experience with rock polishing, sorry.

Ha! yes at the moment I am tumbling rocks. Or should i say things such as Amethyst and Quartz in their natural state.

I can see in future it may come in handy for other things!

Hugs
    Gayle x

oh I see! Sorry! I've not tumbled any rocks in mine