Thread: Stone setting

Default Stone setting

Hi all
    This is my first post on here and i'm new to jewellery making so be gentle.
    I want to make a ring like a wedding band with stones set into it, what is the best way to fit and secure the stones?
    Any help or advice would be great.
    Thanks
    Lee

Stone setting is relatively a simple idea,but to get it right is difficult. It's just making metal bend around something.
    The simplest way would be to measure your stones diameter and drill a hole a tiny fraction bigger.The stone should sit in the hole 1/4 millimeter below the surface of the metal. You then need to push metal around the stone,gradually tightening it in place,paying attention to how flush the stone is to the surface.
    You can make a tool to push the metal with a nail banged into a handle and then cut the head off,file the head flat and then bang it with the file,to make a slight texture to stop the tool slipping.

If you got a set of setting burs it would make it a lot easier,as these cut a hole the correct shape for the stone. I've never seen a setter in the UK use them though?They seem to use frazer of diffrent shapes.

There are a few other ways,but slightly more complicated and much greater risk of stabbing yourself. I had to change a watch battery once while trying to hide the fact that my hand was bleeding.Don't let that put you off though.I'm crap at setting.

Hi
    Thanks for the reply, how would that work on a flat band type ring ? if i push metal around the stone surely it will distort the flat ring surface.
    Lee

Quote Originally Posted by leemorris View Post
    Hi
    Thanks for the reply, how would that work on a flat band type ring ? if i push metal around the stone surely it will distort the flat ring surface.
    Lee