Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hello from Bristol

Wink Hello from Bristol

Hi All,

This seems like a super forum and I am relieved to find it! I took just a two day course down in cornwall in basic silversmithing where we made a simple link bracelet, a ring, a pair of earrings and a pendant. It was very inspiring! I am a bit overwhelmed right now by the scale of the undertaking ahead of me. I DO LOVE making stuff. I'm a musician, a writer and a full time therapist with a love of all things creative. So I'm going into this because I like the creative process. With that said it is my goal to make it also my living. I've been a therapist for a long time now and I'm slowly running out of steam. It's time for a change! That's why I feel a bit overwhelmed. I have no intention of running before I can walk. I have a lot of learning ahead of me but I do have so many questions. I will be joining a 16 week course this month but sadly the classes are only 2.5 hours per week. I'd like to do something a bit more intensive but I'm figuring that it will be a great place for me to pick up things one step at a time and then come home and practice practice practice. It will be a good opportunity to get my questions answered. I spent 5 days last week cleaning out my old outhouse, painting inside, laying lino and I then built a bench which I am really pleased with! Just about to invest in my first equipment and I guess that too feels a bit overwhelming. I haven't placed my order yet but I'm already up to £350 on my basket and still needing a whole bunch of stuff not yet accounted for. Obviously where I took my course was a fully equipped workshop and we had the advantage of a tumbler polisher and desk polisher, so I'm left with a whole bunch of questions about how to polish and finish pieces. I bought the Jinks book and that sort of covers it but I'm wondering if I should be thinking about tumblers etc at this point or can I just use cloths and a dremel (I have a cheap version does