Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ring Making 101....

Default Ring Making 101....

Hey everyone, First proper post on the forum and im straight after some advice

Im a complete newb at jewlery making, but do spend a fair bit of time working metals (I make custom patternwelded blades among other things)

Im hoping to have a go at making some carbon damascus steel rings. Ive seen some folks make them without lining them, and they say that corroson, staining etc etc arent a problem, but I would like to line the rings with non ferrous metals.

I dont think I will have any problems making the steel piece of the ring (im not a bad center lathe turner ) , its the lining Im looking for inspiration for.

My first idea was to buy a cheap sterling silver band in the right size, slip the damacus ring over the outside of it, and then use a couple of steel balls from a bearing 30mm or so diameter to 'swage' the lining out forming a lip against the steel outer.

Can anyone see any major probs with this plan? if you could point me to any tutorials, or have any ideas for other ways of lining them I would love to hear them!

Ive just bought this off ebay (im a tool addict ) will it help me in my quest for ring lining? or is it just for final sizing. Thought it looked like a nice piece of kit so buy first, work it out later

(I cant hotlink to a my photobucket account as I dont have enough posts on the forum, so will just post the ebay number for any opinions! 130390412631 )

cheers!

Default Lining Rings.

Hi John, It's best not to re-invent the wheel, so you definitely need tuition on making rings. Books are rather reticent on the details, but the Jewellery Making Techniques Book, Elizabeth Olver, published by Apple, might be a starting point.