Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Couple of firsts...

Default A Couple of firsts...

Here is a ring i just finished. It's sterling silver with a 7mm onyx cab. It's my first attempt to set a stone, so i went with a bezel. It's also my first ring that is not made with lost wax casting. The design is not the focal point for me on this piece, this is a exercise in new techniques for me, so i went with something simple. My camera is not that good so if the pictures are a bit bad im sorry. Actually it's also first time i post a picture, so hope it works. Constructive criticism is welcome ...

Best regards

Anton

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01297.jpg 
Views:	72 
Size:	21.0 KB 
ID:	1986Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01296.jpg 
Views:	73 
Size:	20.0 KB 
ID:	1987Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01295.jpg 
Views:	63 
Size:	21.0 KB 
ID:	1988

I really like it, great work for all those 'firsts' :-)

No fair! I wish my first stone setting was that good! I love the texture of the silver too.

Dear Anton,
    That is a professional job you did there and I would not normally presume to add any thing more. But as you ask, here are some more advanced options.
    1. Put inside a smaller second tube, well fitting and about 1mm shorter. It does not have to be soldered. Now you have a bearer for a faceted stone. The amount of bezel to push over is critical, as it has to be just enough to hold the stone, but not so much as to look lumpy.
    2. Make bezels for three stones, two small flanking ones and a larger middle one.
    3. It's a matter of taste, but I do think long tube settings look best on rings made from round wire, about 3mm, so you would then be into seamless tubes and setting burrs.
    Also you could then make several 2mm rings to wear together on the same finger.